David Marmota: “The new has never attracted me as much as the old”.

David Marmota is a collage artist based in Barcelona. His work made out from vintage magazines is known for his geometrical patterns and colorful compositions. He has also colaborated with the band Doble Pletina since its very beginning. I really love this quizz music video for their song Nada.

 Who is David Marmota?

The truth is I still haven’t figured out very well how to answer to that question. The easiest thing would be to me to say that I’m thirty-three years old, that  I watch films (I’m a fan of horror, noir, precode, from 1930-70 I could watch anything), I read books (A Night Among the Horses by Djuna Barnes is the last one I have read and I really liked it), and I buy magazines (Americans and French, late 50’s, early 60’s, because of the colours they use in the composition, they use a lot of color stain) which I use to cut all the time. I like pastel and golden colours. I also draw, take walks, and make a lot of mistakes, just like everybody does. Putting all this together make give a clue about who I am.

grisnaranja

What does nostalgia mean to you?                        

Well, as an invention to sell things of the past, right? I have always liked old things, but not for nostalgic reasons or anything. I guess the attraction that we feel for old things has to with a certain kind of sensibility, and I’ve felt this attraction since I was a kid. I don’t know, but it feels difficult to understand why cutting out a magazine from fifty years ago causes me more pleasure than cutting out a modern one. Since I was a kid the new has never attracted me as much as the old, but it has nothing to do with nostalgia.

unregalo

A fictional character that inspires you

 I can’t think of many fictional characters that inspire me, I prefer real people. Five people on my favourites list starting from above: Montgomery Clift, Elizabeth Taylor, Kenneth Anger, Joseph Cornell and Curtis Harrington. From Anger and Harrington, I really love Puce Moment and Night Tide. If I think about artist I have felt inspired by Agnes Martin o Corita Kent, just to name two.

grisyazul

 What can we learn from ourselves through art?

I have learned a lot from myself (though not so much as to answer the first question). It teaches you to think about how to solve problems, to be more resolute, more practical, to look for the essential, and to leave aside what is not so important. 

 What are your next projects?

I would like to start 2017 animating my collages (now I’m planning how to do it), and getting some interesting proposal (I would love to exhibit my collages or to get something published with them). In the meantime, I will continue drawing, watching films, reading, and cutting out.

verdemanzana

Leave a Reply

